ACTION MINUTES OF THE HERITAGE PRESERVATION COMMISSION

CITY OF SAINT PAUL, MINNESOTA

Lower Level - Room 41, City Hall/Court House, 15 West Kellogg Boulevard

January 8, 2015

Present: Richard Dana, Barbara Bezat, Robert Ferguson, Matt Hill, Renee Hutter Barnes, Amy

Meller, Michael Justin, David Riehle, Steve Trimble, Diane Trout-Oertel, David Wagner

Absent: Bill Lightner (excused), Matt Mazanec (excused)

Staff Present: Amy Spong, Christine Boulware, Allison Suhan, John Beaty

BUSINESS MEETING

- I. Call to Order 5:07
- II. Approval of the Agenda Commissioner Hutter Barnes moved to approve the agenda; Commissioner Trout-Oertel seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously 8-0.
- III. Conflicts of Interest None were stated.
- IV. Approval of the meeting action minutes

Commissioner Justin moved to approve all five meeting minutes; Commissioner Bezat seconded the motion. **The motion passed 8-0.**

- A. October 23, 2014 Public Hearing
- B. November 6, 2014 Business Meeting
- C. November 20, 2014 Public Hearing
- D. December 4, 2014 Business Meeting
- E. December 18, 2014 Public Hearing

V. Old Business

A. 100 Macalester Street, Macalester College, Old Main – Individual Site, by Nathan Lief, Director of Facilities Services at Macalester College, for a building permit to replace all of the windows in Old Main. File #15-014 (Spong, 266-6714) laidover from the December 18, 2014 public hearing

Commissioner Wagner recused himself since he will be teaching at Macalester College this spring.

Commissioner Riehle moved to accept staff recommendations; Commissioner Ferguson seconded the motion. Commissioner Bezat proposed to amend the staff recommendation by deleting finding #3. Commissioners Riehle and Ferguson approved the friendly amendment. **The motion passed 9-0.**

- VI. Chair's Announcements- None.
- VII. Staff Announcements- None.

VIII. New Business

A. Nominate 2015 Awards Jury for the annual Saint Paul Heritage Preservation Awards

The Awards Jury volunteers include: Commissioners Wagner, Hutter Barnes, Bezat, and Chair Dana. There was discussion of award criteria and categories

including potential revisions.

IX. Annual Meeting

A. Draft Annual Report and permit statistics

Staff presented annual report statistics for 2014.

B. Election of officers for 2015 (Nominating Committee: Justin, Mazanec, Trout-Oertel)

Commissioner Justin moved to re-elect the current officers on the executive committee for another term; Commissioner Bezat seconded the motion. **The motion passed 10-0.**

C. 2015 HPC Work Plan

Major projects foreseen for 2015 were presented by HPC staff and discussed by the Commission.

X. Adjourn 7:03

Submitted by A. Suhan