Answers to Questions Frequently Asked by Adults Concerned About Adolescents Behavior

















Revised November 2012 A Resource for Adults, Parents, Guardians, Teachers, Counselors, Youth Ministers, Law Enforcement, and anyone who loves and has a relationship with adolescents and sometime struggle with their challenging behaviors



Answers to Questions Frequently Asked by Adults Concerned About Adolescents Behavior

This publication was developed for anyone who loves and has a relationship with adolescents and sometimes struggles with their challenging behaviors. Many adults have expressed frustration and a lack of knowledge when these difficult times occur. Part of this experience is normal adolescent development. Other factors may be current adolescent culture with exposure to more violence in music, movies and television, video games; the convenience of drugs and alcohol; in an age of cell phones, internet, cars, and more money.

These educational materials were developed to provide general information to support all adults who care for adolescents. This publication is not intended to serve as a complete answer guide to every situation. Specific situations should be addressed by you with your child's teachers, healthcare provider, therapist, treatment program staff, clergy, or school liaison officer.

Materials developed by:

- Kate Cavett, MA, LADC
- Saint Paul Police Department, Juvenile Division Missing Persons Unit (651-266-5612)
- University of Minnesota Medical Center Fairview Adolescent Chemical Dependency Comprehensive Assessment Program (612-672-6600)

With contributions from:

- Ramsey County Community Human Services
- Crystal Police Department's Juvenile Specialist Susan J. Carstens, Psy.D.
- Maplewood Police Department (651-777-8191)
- Mounds View Police Department (763-717-4070)
- New Brighton Police Department (651-767-0640)
- North Saint Paul Police Department (651-747-2406)
- Ramsey County Sheriff's Office (651-266-7300)
 Serving: Arden Hills, Gem Lake, Little Canada, North Oaks, Shoreview, Vandals Heights, and White Bear Township
- Roseville Police Department (651-767-0640)
- Saint Anthony Village Police Department (612-782-3350)
 Also serving Falcon Heights and Lauderdale
- White Bear Lake Police Department (651-429-8511)

Table of Contents

Curfew	4
Runaway	4
Truancy	8
Drug and Alcohol Use	9
Parent's Rights and Responsibilities	13
Runaway Laws	14
School Attendance Laws	15
Alcohol Laws	15
Marijuana Laws	16
Tobacco Laws	16
Emancipation	17
Curfew Laws	18

Curfew

Ramsey County Curfew Hours

It is unlawful for a juvenile to be in a public place in Ramsey County without a parent or guardian after the following hours:

15 years and under: 10pm

16 – 17 years: Midnight 7 days a week

Ramsey County's curfew is midnight for our 16 year old. My child says all their friend's parents have a 2 AM curfew. Can parents give permission for their child to stay out beyond the legal curfew?

No. Parents can set their own curfew earlier than the legal curfew, but cannot give their child permission to break the law and stay out later than the legal curfew. The only exception to this rule is if your child is with you or another responsible adult.

Curfew Laws of surrounding Minnesota counties start on page 16.

Runaway

What does it take to be legally considered a runaway youth?

In Minnesota, a runaway youth is legally defined as "...an unmarried child under the age of 18 years, who is absent from the home of a parent, guardian, or other lawful placement without the consent of the parent, guardian, or lawful custodian" (Minnesota State Statute 260C.007, Subd. 208).

Do I have to wait 24 hours after my child has run to file a police report?

No. Federal Law (US Code 5780 (1)) prohibits any law enforcement agency within the State from establishing a waiting period before accepting a missing child/runaway-child report.

Will my child have a police record if I file a runaway report?

Most police departments keep juvenile records listing all contacts with a particular child, including reports that a child has run away. Under

most circumstances, runaway reports are confidential and cannot be shared with the public. Therefore, reporting your child as a runaway will not affect your child's future employment, college, or military plans. Runaway records may be released to other police agencies, the courts, or county social service agencies. Under most circumstances, a police department's records of runaway reports will be destroyed when the child turns 19 years.

My child ran away while staying with his grandparents in another state. Do I still make the runaway report in Ramsey County? We think s/he will return to friends in our city?

Under Minnesota law, the local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the location where a child has been missing or was last seen has the responsibility to take a missing person report from any interested party. If this location cannot be clearly and easily established, the local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the last verified location where the missing child last resided

has the responsibility to take the report. In the event any circumstances delay a determination of which law enforcement agency has the responsibility to take a missing person report from an interested party, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension is required to provide guidance to the agencies involved (Minn. Stat. §299C.565).

When the report is entered into NCIC—the National Crime Information Center (a national child runaway list), law enforcement agencies will know your child is on the run. If you have information, your child has returned to your city, you must advise our local officers.

Do police really look for a runaway youth once a report is filed?

Law enforcement agencies look for runway youth. A large police agency like in the City of Saint Paul has a Missing Persons Unit with officers assigned to actively look for runaways, and assist parents with other resources. Other agencies have various procedures to address finding your runaway child.

Once a police runaway report is filed, the youth's name and physical description are entered into NCIC, the national computer listing the child as a runaway. If the child is located anywhere in the country, the child will likely be taken into custody by police and may be held until parents can be notified and can make arrangements to have the child returned home.

If your child is on run, it is also critical that you call the child's school daily to report the child truant and to advise staff that their child is a reported runaway.

These continued runaway reports help police recognize your child's behaviors as a serious problem. You should report your child as a runaway every day they are gone, and report every time they return. The more you report your child as a runaway, the more resources will be made available in finding your child, and getting you help.

My child is seeing a psychiatrist for depression, and has talked of suicide. S/He has run away in the past, but has been found before they made a suicidal act. If s/he runs out of the house again, what can I do?

Call 911, give all the background information you can to the dispatcher so they understand the urgency of the situation (i.e. child may be suicidal, has been hospitalized, etc).

If you can, follow your child in the car keeping the dispatcher informed were s/he is headed. When talking to the police, be honest in providing every piece of information to the officer, even if you feel you should protect your child's or family's reputation or you feel embarrassed.

I know where my runaway child is. What should I do?

If you have located your runaway child, you may go to the location, pick up your child and take him or her home. Once the child is home, you should notify police so the runaway report can be cancelled.

If you are afraid your child will run from you or become violent, or you will be endangered in some way by attempting to get your child from a known address, notify police and ask for their assistance. Tell police why it may not be safe for you to go alone to get your child.

State law allows officers to take a child into custody when the child has run away from a parent, guardian or custodian, or when the peace officer reasonably believes the child has run away from a parent, guardian or custodian (Minn. Stat. §260C.175(2)(i)).

Unless police officers have reason to believe that a child's immediate health and welfare is at risk, an officer usually may NOT enter a premises to search for a runaway child without the owner's permission (Minn. Stat. §260C.175(2)(ii)). A search of property without owner's consent usually requires a search

warrant, which is not possible to obtain in most runaway cases.

What will police do with a runaway child when they have the child in custody?

Once police locate a child, the child must either be returned to his/her parents or placed with another suitable adult such as a relative, or placed in shelter care.

I'm afraid my child will run from home again. Can the police take him/her to a locked setting such as a detention center or locked hospital program?

The Minnesota Department of Correction rules do not permit police to place runaway youth in a locked jail. Police are rarely able to place a runaway in a locked juvenile detention center. Police may not place a child in a locked hospital setting simply because they have run away from home. If the child is seriously intoxicated or in crisis emotionally when taken into custody, police may take him/her to a detoxification or crisis intervention center where the attending physician or other authorized staff will determine whether or not the child needs to be held temporarily for his/her own safety.

If the child's problems are such that the parents believe the child needs a secure setting for the safety of the child or the safety of others the child may harm, parents may be able to arrange to have the child admitted to a locked psychiatric/chemical dependency hospital unit by going to an emergency department at a hospital. If a child threatens hurting themselves—suicide they should be taken to a mental health professional for evaluation; this is often arranged through the emergency department of a hospital.

I read that the second leading cause of death for adolescents is suicide, how do I protect my child?

Sometimes, some adolescents easily become upset and make poor, impulsive decisions. It is wise to structure your home environment so children can't attempt spontaneous suicidal acts. Store all medications—prescription drugs and over-the counter-drugs in a lock-box. Some over-the-counter-drugs, like Tylenol (Acetaminophen), or drugs that contain Tylenol (like Benadryl), can be more deadly than some of your prescription medications. An overdose of Tylenol can cause liver damage resulting in an intensive care hospitalization.

Keep trigger locks on all guns in the home, including hunting guns. These locks can be obtained free from most law enforcement agencies. Store ammunition locked up in a separate location from the guns.

If a child makes statements about hurting themselves or suicide they should be immediately taken to a mental health professional for evaluation—this is often through the emergency department of a hospital. Statements of self-harm or suicide should always be considered serious.

How does my child get referred to court for running away from home?

In Ramsey County, when parents are struggling with their youth continually leaving home without permission (being a "runaway"), other at risk behavior, and having no services or help outside the family, they may contact the Ramsey County Human Services Delinquency Unit.

Staff will help parents determine if there are services that might help their family and help their child decide to remain at home. Staff may also determine if a runaway petition needs to be filed. The youth would then be brought into court and possibly placed on Human Service Probation. Staff will gather the appropriate information from parents in order to file the runaway petition. It is helpful for

parents to provide a list of dates their child was away from home without permission.

- City of Saint Paul parents/guardians call: 651-266-5308
- Suburban Ramsey County parents and guardians call: 651-266-5319.

What can be done to those who encourage a child to run or who harbor the child who has run from home?

Minnesota law indicates that any person (other than social service agencies or outreach workers who provide services to runaway children), who by act, word or omission encourages, causes or contributes to the child's running is guilty of a gross misdemeanor (Minnesota Statute. 260C.425).

Unfortunately, this is a very difficult law to prosecute because it is hard to prove that someone encouraged or contributed to the child's running. Generally, such a charge requires that the child give a statement to police indicating that the person in question was aware of the child's status as a runaway and harbored or encouraged the child to continue the behavior. Most youths are not willing to provide police with this information.

What should I do if my child's friend wants to stay at my home but I suspect he or she might be a runaway?

Most runaway children seek refuge with families of their friends. If your child has a friend who wants to stay with you, you might check with the child's parents to make sure they have given permission. A child under the age of 14 may stay in your home for up to 30 days and a child 14 years of age or older may stay with you indefinitely with permission of the child's parent/s. It is recommended you obtain a "power of attorney" in case you need to get medical care for the child.

If a child tells you that he/she has been abused or neglected at home or has been thrown out of the home and needs a place to stay, you can best assist the child and protect yourself from allegations of contributing or encouraging a child's illegal behavior by calling police. If the child is abused or neglected, the police will need to investigate the allegations and notify Child Protection. Police and Child Protection work together to assess and plan for the child's needs.

When my child says he/she is going to leave without permission or begins punching holes in our walls, can I restrain him/her to stop the violence in my home?

If a youth attempts to leave your home without permission you may use reasonable restraint. This means 1 or 2 adults holding a child until the situation is over or the child is willing to listen, calm down and/or negotiate. Parents don't always have to give in totally; they can compromise so youth gets a portion of what they want.

Sometimes in attempts to restrain a child bruises are caused. If this is the case professionals (counselors, teachers, medical personnel, etc) will be required to make a report to Child Protection. If parents respond to violence with violence, sometimes parents also receive charges, thus it may be best to call police—911 before using any physical restraint. Let the dispatcher know what the child is doing, that you are afraid of them and for them; advise the dispatcher if s/he is using any weapons, or high on drugs or alcohol.

How do I report my child as a runaway?

If your child leaves with someone whom you do not know, you should call 911. A description of the person, car, and license number is helpful.

If your child does not return home and you cannot find them, the law requires you call the law

enforcement agency in the city your child ran away in and file a report.

For example, if you live in Saint Paul and your child left your home, you will call Saint Paul Police.

For most cities in Ramsey County, call 651-484-3366.

This is the number of the Ramsey County Communications Center, which serves the following cities: Arden Hills, Gem Lake, Little Canada, Maplewood, Moundsview, New Brighton, North Oaks, North St. Paul, Roseville, Saint Paul, Shoreview, Vandals Heights, and White Bear Township.

For Saint Anthony Village, Falcon Heights, and Lauderdale call 612-782-3350.

For White Bear Lake, call 651-429-8511.

When you make the initial report, be sure to ask for a case number. Every time your child returns home, call the same number to report your child is home. Be sure to leave your case number and/or home address.

When reporting your child as a runaway, law enforcement will ask you for the following information:

• Full name, date of birth, height, and weight.
This information is necessary to have your child's

- name entered into the national child runaway list
- Physical descriptors, such as eye color; hair color; any scars, tattoo, or birthmarks; condition of teeth (i.e. braces, caps, crooked or straight); jewelry; body piercing; and clothing description.
- Personality type and social activities, such as where do they to hang out; who are their friends (names and phone numbers, if they have them); where do they go to school; do they have a job; are they drug/alcohol users; are they sexually active; are they in a gang; are they on probation, if so who is the probation officer; do they have a social worker, if so who is it; who did they run with; do they use a social network page?
- Do you know where your child is staying; if so get us a good address and or description of where they may be.
- What is the child's cell phone number and cell phone bill (records).
- Please tell us if your child has been in a treatment program, counseling or may be suicidal.
- Provide a current picture of your child.
- Parent/guardian's current phone numbers: home, cell, work. (If parents move, they need to call with updates.)

Parents cannot keep the report open after the child returns home, just in case s/he runs again. Parents must cancel the report every time the child returns, and file a new report if your child runs again.

Truancy

My child does not want to go to school. S/he skips several days a week even when I have driven them to the school building. Can I get in trouble for not having my child in school?

Not attending school is called truancy. Minnesota law dictates that children under 18 year of age must attend school. A parent or legal guardian is responsible to see that their child attends school. If a

parent has concerns due to their child refusing to attend school, they should contact the Ramsey County Attorney's Office Truancy Intervention Program (TIP) Line at 651-266-3135. TIP is collaboration between the Saint Paul Schools Family Engagement Program (651-767-8347) and the Ramsey County Attorney's office to address the problems of truancy for all students ages 12 – 17. In the same office, the FTIP - Family Truancy Intervention

Program - addresses educational neglect for children under the age of 12.

A child who misses seven days of school or seven class periods on seven different days is a habitual truant. The county attorneys' office will then address this legal issue with the parent and the student.

Can police take my child into custody for being on the street and not in school?

Police officers are responsible to enforce the truancy laws when school is in session. If police pick

up your child, they will issue a truancy citation and then return them to their school. Each individual school monitors their students' truancy data.

What is the legal age a child can drop out of school?

A 16 or 17 year old child may withdraw from school AFTER both the child and the parent attend a meeting with school personnel. Then both must sign a written election withdrawal form. If a parent does not want their child to drop out of school, they can choose not to sign the form. A child cannot withdraw from school without the parent's permission.

Drug and Alcohol Use

I am afraid my children maybe using drugs. But, don't all teens experiment with drugs or alcohol?

No. It is a common myth among many teens and parents that all youth are using drugs or alcohol regularly. A November 2008 research study by the Minnesota Department of Health research indicates that the number of high school students that use drugs weekly is much lower than other youth perceive.

How do I know when my child's use has moved from teenage experimentation to a potential problem? What would be signs of a drug or alcohol problem?

Some signs to be look for that are indicators of youth drug or alcohol use are:

- Loss of /or change of positive friends
- Attitude changes, blaming others for their problems
- Drop in grades and poor quality work effort
- Lack of attention and focus
- Withdrawn from family and old friends
- Memory problems
- Secretive behaviors

- Mood swings, sensitive to noise
- Interest in different music
- Unexplained money or new clothes or other items (CDs I pod, cell phones, etc)
- Over-reactive to criticism
- Inability to sleep or insomnia
- Change in eating habits
- Change in hygiene
- Increased verbal and/or physical violence
- Accident prone, or uncommon illness

I smoked marijuana when I was a youth. So what is the big deal?

Today's strain of marijuana have been developed with increased levels of THC — Tetrahydrocannabinol / tet-rə-HY-drə-kə-NAB-i-nol—the chemical agent that makes one high. What you smoked in your youth is not the same chemical your child is smoking today. The strength of the THC today is much more addictive and can cause your child more serious problems.

What should I do if I catch my child drunk or high, and/or in possession of alcohol or drugs?

When your child is sober sit her/him down, set rules about no illegal activity by anyone in your household including adolescent drug and alcohol use. If they continue to use taking them in for a chemical health assessment would be appropriate. Call your insurance company to get the number where you can go for an assessment. If you do not have insurance, call Ramsey County Rule 25 at 651-266-4008.

Counselors advise family and extended-families to role model sober behavior by creating an alcohol and drug free home environment; and role modeling that one does not have to use drugs or drink alcohol socially to have a good time.

My child goes to parties every weekend and I know they are using drugs and alcohol. Isn't this just what teenagers do? Should I be concerned?

Using drugs and alcohol is a crime for teenagers. More criminal behavior and risky sexual behavior happens when people are high on drugs or alcohol. Weekend use can progress to weekday use. When teens use drugs and alcohol school grades can drop, school truancy may develop, and criminal activity may begin in order to pay for the drug and alcohol. Do you want your child exposed to this risk?

When you pretend you do not know your child is using, a teen often interprets this as passive approval of their use.

My child's friends tell me there are new synthetic drugs that are legal. Since they are legal they claim they are safe. Is this true?

The synthetic drugs are not legal and are very unsafe. "Herbal smoke" products (Synthetic marijuana) or "novelty herbal incense" (Synthetic

stimulants/hallucinogens) are the new extremely popular and extremely dangerous drugs among youth.

Synthetic marijuana is dried herbs that have been sprayed with a chemical compound that when smoked is presumed to create a" high" similar to inhaling marijuana. Some street names are: K2, Spice, Genie, Mr. Smiley, Kronic, AKA, Demon, Genie, Bayou Blaster, Spike Gold, Yucatan Fire, DOA, Armageddon, Judgment Day Blaze, Red X Dawn, Zohai, Black Mamba, Wildfire Extreme, and Sex on the Mountain. Novelty herbal incense looks and smells like a bottom-end potpourri. The coarse mash of faded leaf chunks, petals and fibrous threads is colored an improbable shade, and smells like a room freshener. It would look more at home in a saucer on Great-Grandma's toilet tank. When smoked, like the main psychoactive substance in THC (tetahydrocannabinol), marijuana, chemicals bind to the cannabinoid receptors in the human brain, which primarily affect the central nervous system, and they can be 100 times more powerful than THC. Some youth between the ages of 14 and 21 are showing up in emergency rooms with symptoms very different than marijuana use would indicate, such as agitation, elevated blood pressure and heart rates, pale skin, vomiting, severe hallucinations and/or seizures.

Synthetic stimulants/hallucinogens that mimic cocaine, methamphetamines or ecstasv substances, have street names like: 2C-E, BZP, Wave, Ivory Wave, Vanilla Sky, Ocean, Charge+, White Lighting, Scarface, Hurricane Charlie, Red Dove, Cloud-9, White Dove, Meow, Tranquility Bath Salts, Plant Fertilizer and are be snorted, swallowed, smoked or injected. These drugs can cause intense Side effects can include: poor concentration, teeth grinding, problems focusing visually, delusions, erratic behavior, hypertension, hallucinations, extreme paranoia and suicidal thoughts.

Synthetic drugs have become extremely popular with youth because they mistakenly believe them to be

natural and therefore safe, and they were legal until Spring/Summer 2011. Marilyn Huestis, Ph.D., chief of chemistry and drug metabolism at the national Institute of Drug Abuse advises, "when you take these drugs, you are hijacking the part of the brain important for many functions: temperature control, food intake, perceptions, memory, and problem solving, and people taking these high-potency drugs are effecting other important functions throughout the bodies, including hormone functions and the immune system. These chemicals were never intended for human consumption. We don't know what the risks are." Most shipments of synthetic products are coming from China, Africa and the Middle East, with no controls or oversight. Scientists that have analyzed the chemical makeup of the products found the ingredients and dosage varied widely even between samples of the same product, which creates significant potential for overdoses. At this point it is not proven, but medical observers believe these drugs are highly addictive and users may experience withdrawal symptoms.

Youth have been especially attracted to these synthetic drugs as they are not identified in drug screens. Although a few labs can provide a drug screens that detect use of synthetic drugs, the drugs are water soluble and only remain in the body for three days, thus samples must be obtained within that limited period. Youth also appreciate the convenience of ordering synthetic drugs online.

Synthetic drugs were legal products until recently. Effective March 1, 2011, the Federal Drug Enforcement Administration classified synthetic drugs a "schedule one controlled substance" like heroine, prescription drugs or marijuana. It is now illegal to possess or sell these drugs in the United States. July 1, 2011, (updated August 1, 2012) a Minnesota law went into effect making it illegal to possess or sell synthetic marijuana and synthetic stimulants/ hallucinogens. It is a misdemeanor to possess and a felony to sell them. Fortunately the ban is extremely broad and is written to include new products developed with similar chemical make-up.

If I give my child a UA (Urine Analysis) will I know for sure if s/he has been using?

The simple answer is NO. A urine analysis identifies the use of some drugs; it will identify the use of some drugs for only 3 days; some drugs and alcohol only show up for a few hours, and some do not show up at all in a UA. A UA is a tool to assist in identifying possible use, but it is not foolproof. There are ways to pass a UA even if a person is still using. Parents are encouraged to watch for using behaviors, and mood changes instead of trusting UAs.

I realize my child has been using regularly, how do I get my child into treatment?

Contact your insurance company to find out where you can take your child for a chemical health assessment. Schedule an appointment for an outpatient assessment. It is helpful if you bring in your notes on your child's behaviors including: why you suspect their use; any evidence they have been using; what substance you believe they have been using; legal issues; and using behaviors (as listed above).

If your child isn't honest with the assessor, they are resistant to getting an assessment, or if there is a crisis where your child is high/drunk and you need immediate intervention you may need to bring your child in for a multi-day assessment. The University of Minnesota Medical Center—Fairview—Riverside campus has a locked Comprehensive Assessment Program (intake: 612-672-6600). If you don't have insurance call Ramsey County Rule 25 at 651-266-4008 for an assessment.

If my child comes home drunk should I just put him/her to bed to sleep it off and deal with it the next day?

Any drunken person may vomit. If they are unconscious and turned to lie on their back there is the potential that they aspirate (inhale into the lungs) the vomit. This can cause death. Close monitoring or medical consultation at a detox center, or an emergency room may be necessary. In the last few years there have been many media reports of teens dying of alcohol poisoning. You may consider taking any drunk person to a detox or an emergency department for evaluation.

I found several package of cold medication in my child's room, is this something to be concerned about?

Over the counter cough and cold medications like: Coricidin Cough and Cold ("triple C"), Mucinex, Delsym, Vicks Formula 44 and Robitussin, Benylin DM, Pertussin) contain dextromethorphan (DXM).

Dextromethorphan cough-suppressing is ingredient found in a variety of over-the counter cold and cough medications. When used as intended for cough suppression, typical dosages run about 10 to 20mg. every 4 hours or 30mg every 6 to 8 hours, and are extremely safe and very effective in addressing cold symptoms. DXM, is one of the few over-thecounter medicines with serious recreational use/abuse potential. When used recreationally, dosages are generally much higher, in the range of 250 to 1500 mg, taken as a single dose. The method of use varies as the drug is available over-the-counter in capsules, lozenges, tablets, oral suspension and cough syrup.

Used recreationally, it is referred to as "Robo", "X" or "rome". Large doses in the range of 250 to 1500 mg are known to cause euphoric and hallucinatory effects. There is a fine line between a dose causing pleasant effects and one that may cause negative effects ranging from mildly unpleasant-- skin

irritation, shortness of breath, dizziness, temporary sexual dysfunction, nausea and hangovers--to more serious ones like coma, brain damage, liver damage, respiratory distress and death. Generally, the more serious side effects are a result of combining DXM with alcohol and other drugs. An overdose of DXM or DXM with acetaminophen/Tylenol, as in Coricidin Cough and Cold can cause liver damage and may be fatal.

My child is 16 and has begun smoking cigarettes; s/he says the police don't care. Can s/he get in trouble for this?

It is against the law for anyone under the age of 18 years to purchase, possess, or use tobacco products. In Ramsey County tobacco laws are enforced. A first citation may be a referral to a diversion program. Second and further citations may be sent to the county attorney where they will have to go to court and be required to pay a fine, attend a class or other consequences. Parents are always encouraged to have their child pay their own fines and be responsible for their own consequences.

My child continues to use, will not follow my rules, continues to runaway, and sometimes becomes violent. What can I do?

Should your child's negative behavior progress, legal involvement may be the only way to get their attention. For this to happen, you may need to initiate a process of holding them accountable and involve police, treatment counselors, therapists, and school staff. The more active you are in making police reports for violent behaviors (breaking things, throwing things, fists through walls) or threatening behaviors, and school truancy reports, taking them in for treatment; the more services will become available for your child. This is a process in reporting and reporting, and reporting.

As hard as it may be to call the police on your child, it is important to report them every time they run

away (are absent from your home or other lawful placement without your expressed consent). And, when they return home, call to report that as well. This may feel repetitive, but each initial report, and return home-report is necessary for police procedure to be effective. This will enable your child to be eligible for more services, or court involvement.

Taking your child in for a chemical health assessment and returning them to treatment is also part of the process in getting help with your child.

A police domestic violence report should be made immediately (call 911) if your child is doing acts of violence to anyone in the family or themselves and safety is a concern. Or if your child is making verbal threats where someone is afraid, a police report should be made immediately (call 911). When the officers arrive, parents can respectfully request that the officer make an arrest if safety is a concern. Be honest if you are feeling afraid of your child's behavior or threats. To help officers, give them full

details about your child' behavior problems history that may include:

- Chemical dependency and/or mental health treatment history, drugs/alcohol using
- School truancy history (they should be in school all day, every school day), if your child has an IEP, history of problems in school
- Police calls and/or tickets issued
- Focus on reporting your child's behavior

By making a report, you are beginning a documented paper trail that could be needed later on with other agencies to get more help for your child.

Remember parents have rights and responsibilities, you have a responsibility to get your child help (treatment or legal consequences) when they are using drugs/alcohol and demonstrating out of control behaviors. Parents are expected to set reasonable limits and hold youth to them; failure to do so is neglect.

Parent's Rights and Responsibilities

My child ignores the rules in my home, saying they are old fashioned and s/he does not have to follow them.

Parents have rights and responsibilities. Parents are the authority in their home to set reasonable rules for all ages of youth living in their home. With teens it is wise to include them in a discussion of what rules there will be and what will happen if the rules are broken.

Parent's rules and rights may include:

 Setting a reasonable curfew depending on the age of the youth and their specific circumstances (a youth in or just after chemical dependency treatment should have an earlier curfew than a youth not using drugs or alcohol).

- Expecting youth to contribute to the household by helping with chores appropriate to the age of the youth.
- Who can be invited into your home and when.
- Looking in your child's room if you suspect they may have drugs/alcohol, or weapons.
- Appropriate consequences/discipline.
 Physical discipline is discouraged. In
 Minnesota it is against the law to leave a
 bruise (black and blue mark or welt) on a
 child when disciplining.
- Grounding as a consequence for inappropriate behaviors.
- Taking away driving the car privileges for inappropriate behaviors (even if they paid for the car).

 If an older child purchase an iPod, cell phone, TV or other item—it is your right to confiscate (take) them as an act of discipline (even if they paid for it).

Runaway Laws

(Minnesota Statute 260C.007, Subd. 28)

An unmarried child who is under the age of 18 years and who is absent from the home of parent or other lawful placement without the consent of the parent, guardian, or lawful placement without permission from their parents or who fails to return home at the time specified by their parents, fits the legal definition of a runaway youth.

Once a parent or interested party has filed a runaway report with police, the name of their runaway child is entered into a national computer database—NCIC—the National Crime Information Center—national child runaway list. That means police in every state can check names of children on the national data base to see if a youth is a runaway. If police officers determine that a youth is a runaway, they will take the youth into custody until they can locate a parent.

Under Minnesota law, the local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the location where a child has been missing or was last seen has the responsibility to take a missing person report from any interested party. If this location cannot be clearly and easily established, the local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the last verified location where the missing child last resided has the responsibility to take the report. In the event any circumstances delay a determination of which law enforcement agency has the responsibility to take a missing person report from an interested party, the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension is required to provide guidance to the agencies involved. (Minn. Stat. §299C.565)

Police in Minnesota may release runaway youth to their parents, to another suitable adult, or to an unlocked shelter care facility. (Other states may have different rules about holding and releasing runaway youth.) Saint Paul youth do not usually appear in court the first time they receive a citation.

A police officer may issue a citation (ticket) to a runaway youth. This may require that the youth and his or her parents appear before a judge in Juvenile Court.

If a judge finds the youth has run away from home without legal excuse, the judge may:

- order the child to remain at home with parents;
- place the child under the supervision of a county social worker;
- place the child in a group home or foster home;
- transfer custody of the child to another person of good moral character;
- require the child to pay a fine of up to \$100;
- require the child to participate in a community service project;
- order a chemical dependency evaluation or other counseling; and/or
- cancel the child's driver's license until the child's 18th birthday.

Any person who encourages, causes, or helps a child to run from home is guilty of a gross misdemeanor (Minnesota Statute. 260C.425), or a felony if it can be proven the person knowingly deprived the parent of their

child. (An adult who commits a gross misdemeanor could receive up to a \$3,000 fine and up to a year confinement.)

School Attendance Laws

Ramsey County Law Enforcement officers enforce truancy laws because of the importance of education for all youth.

- A child under 16 year of age must attend school (Minnesota statute 102A.22,(5) 7-16 A child 16 and 17 years of age cannot drop out of school without the permission of their parent who must sign a form for election to withdraw before the child can legally withdraw from school (Minnesota Statute (120A.22, Subd, 8).
- A child who is truant may be taken into custody by police (Minnesota Statute 260C.143. 4).
- A juvenile who misses seven days of school or seven class periods on seven different days without lawful excuse can be charged as a "Habitual Truant" under the CHIPS (Children in Need of Protection or Services) laws (Minnesota Statute 260C.007, Subd19)
- Under Minnesota Statute 120A.22, Subd. 1, it is the responsibility of parents or guardians to assure that their children acquire knowledge and skills that are essential for effective citizenship.

- A parent who contributes to a child's truancy from school may be charged with a petty misdemeanor under Minnesota Statute 120A.34 that is punishable by a fine.
- A child is "educationally neglected" if the child is absent from school due to the failure of the parent to get the child to school (Minnesota Statute 260 C.007, subd,. 6 and 260 C.163, Subd.11).

When police pick up a child who is truant, the child will likely be transported to school, and parents will be called.

Business owners are encouraged to call 911 and report youth that appear to be less than 18 years of age and who are in their establishments during the day.

A youth who is suspended from school cannot be on the streets during the school hours. They are to be home while under school suspension.

Parents should work with the school in filing truancy reports and having child referred to Saint Paul's Truancy Intervention Program (TIP).

Alcohol Laws

(Minnesota Juvenile code 260B.007, Subd. 16-17; Minnesota Statute 340A.503)

Consumption or Possession of Alcohol by a Minor

It is against the law for anyone under the age of 21 years to purchase, consume, possess, or

misrepresent their age in order to purchase alcoholic beverages. The first citation may result in both a fine and attendance at a health education seminar; the second generally requires a court appearance. Persons under 21 years of age may consume alcoholic beverages in the household of their parents or guardians with the consent of their parent or guardian (Minnesota Statute 340A.503, Subd. 1(a){2}).

It is unlawful for any business selling liquor to permit a person under the age of 21 to drink alcoholic beverages in their establishment (Minnesota Statute 340A.503, Subd. 1(a){1}). This is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a \$700 fine.

Sale of Alcoholic Beverages to a Minor

It is unlawful for a person to sell, barter, furnish, or give alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 year of age (Minnesota Statute 340A.503,Subd. 2 {1}). This is a Gross Misdemeanor punishable by up

to a year in jail and a \$3000 fine (Minnesota Statute 340A.702)

School Notification

When a student has contact with police due to alcohol offenses, police must notify the student's school of contact with law enforcement (Minnesota Statute 121A.28).

Marijuana Laws

(Minnesota Statute 152.027)

It is against the law for anyone to sell, purchase, use, or possess marijuana. Possession or sale of a small amount (42.5 grams or less) is considered a petty misdemeanor.

It is a misdemeanor to possess more than 1.4 grams of marijuana in a motor vehicle.

It is against the law to possess drug paraphernalia if the paraphernalia has been used and has residue on it from illegal drugs.

A person under 18 years of age who receives a citation for any of the above offenses will probably

have to appear in juvenile court. The court may impose a fine; require a chemical dependency evaluation, order counseling, or other consequences.

School Notification

When a student has contact with police due to a drug offense, police must notify the student's school of contact with law enforcement (Minnesota Statute 121A.28).

Tobacco Laws

(Minnesota Juvenile Code 260B.007, Subd. 16); (Minnesota Statute 609.685)

It is against the law for anyone under the age of 18 years to purchase, possess, or use tobacco products. Some police jurisdictions may divert a first-time offender from Juvenile Court and offer the youth voluntary attendance at four-hour tobacco Education Group plus \$5 for handouts. If the youth is

not diverted and a citation to Juvenile Court is issued, a first-time offender generally receives either a \$50 fine or a \$30 fine plus required attendance at a four-hour seminar on health. A second citation may result in a fine of \$75 to \$100 depending on prior

record; a third citation will likely require a court appearance.

A youth who commit a second tobacco offense could lose their driver's license or be unable to apply for a driver's license for up to a year (Minnesota Statute. 260B.235, Subd. 5b). Youth who use their driver's license, permit, or Minnesota I.D. to purchase tobacco may lose the license for 90 days (Minnesota Statute 171.171(3)).

A person who lends a driver's license to another who then tries to buy tobacco may lose their license for 90 days (Minnesota Statute. 171.171(4))

The law does not allow parents to give their children permission to use tobacco products. It is a

misdemeanor punishable by up to a \$700 fine and 90 days in jail for anyone to furnish tobacco to a person under the age of 18 years (Minnesota Statute 609.685, Subd. 2). However, an Indian may furnish tobacco to an Indian under the age of 18 years if the tobacco is furnished as part of a traditional Indian spiritual or cultural ceremony (Minnesota Statute 609.685, Subd. 5).

Sale of Tobacco to Children

It is unlawful to sell tobacco to a person under the age of 18 years. This is a Misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a \$1,000 fine (Minnesota Statute 609.685, Subd. 1a).

Emancipation

Definition: To release from parental care and responsibility.

People under 18 years of age often ask, "Is there a legal way that I can live on my own and be free from the control of my parents?" Parents sometimes wonder if they can sign a paper that will make their child an adult in the eyes of the law thereby relieving them of the legal responsibility for a child whom is beyond their control.

There is no legal emancipation procedure in the state of Minnesota except marriage. (Juveniles 16 or 17 years of age may marry with consent of their parents, guardian, or the court when the marriage license application has been approved by the judge of juvenile court of county in which the person lives (Minnesota Stature 517.02)).

Juveniles must reach the age of 18 years to be legally on their own and released from parental care and responsibility.

Curfew Laws

Curfew hours differ by city and county. Provided below are current curfew hours at time of print in surrounding cities and counties.

ANOKA COUNTY CURFEW HOURS

City	Under 12 years	12 -13 years	14 years	15 years	16 years	17 years
Anoka	All Days	All Days	All Days	All Days	All Days	All Days
	10 <i>P - 5 A</i>	10 P - 5 A	10 P - 5A	10 <i>P - 5A</i>	12A – 5A	12A – 5A
Bethel	All Days	All Days	All Days	All Days	All Days	All Days
	10 P – 5 A	10 P - 5 A	10 P - 5A	10 <i>P - 5A</i>	10 <i>P - 5A</i>	10 <i>P - 5A</i>
East Bethel	All Days	All Days	All Days	All Days	All Days	All Days
Linwood	9:30 P - 5 A	9:30 <i>P - 5 A</i>	9:30 <i>P - 5 A</i>	9:30 <i>P - 5 A</i>	9:30 <i>P - 5 A</i>	9:30 <i>P - 5 A</i>
Fridley St. Frances	Sun – Thu 9 P – 5 A Fri – Sat 10 P – 5 A	Sun – Thu 10 P – 5 A Fri – Sat 11 P – 5 A	Sun – Thu 10 P – 5 A Fri – Sat 11 P – 5 A	Sun – Thu 10 P – 5A Fri – Sat 11P – 5A	Sun – Thu 11 P – 5A Sat - Sun 12:01A– 5A	Sun - Thu 11 P - 5A Sat - Sun 12:01A- 5A
Andover Blaine Centerville Circle Pines Columbia Heights Columbus Coon Rapids Ham Lake Hill Top Lexington Lino Lakes Nowthen Oak Grove Ramsey Spring Lake Park	Sun – Thu	Sun – Thu	Sun – Thu	Sun- Thu	Sun – Thu	Sun – Thu
	9 P – 5 A	10 P – 5 A	10 P – 5 A	11 P - 5 A	11 P – 5 A	11 P – 5 A
	Fri – Sat	Fri – Sat	Fri – Sat	Sat - Sun	Sat - Sun	Sat -Sun
	10 P – 5 A	11 P – 5 A	11 P – 5 A	12:01 A- 5A	12:01A– 5A	12:01A– 5A

WASHINGTON COUNTY CURFEW HOURS

City	Under 12 years	12 -13 years	14 years	15 years	16 years	17 years
Bayport	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	
Oakdale	9pm-5am	10pm-5am	10pm-5am	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	
	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	
	10pm-5am	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	12am-5 am	12am-5 am	
Cottage Grove	All Days	All Days	All Days	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	
	10pm - 5am	11pm - 5am	11pm - 5am	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	
				Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	
				12am-5 am	12am-5 am	
Forest Lake	All Days	All Days	All Days	All Days	All Days	All Days
	10pm-5am	10pm-5am	10pm-5am	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	1am-5am
Newport	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs
	10pm-5am	10pm-5am	10pm-5am	10pm-5am	11pm-5 am	11pm-5 am
	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat
	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	12am-5 am	12am-5 am
Oak Park Heights	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs		
	10pm-5am	10pm-5am	10pm-5am	10pm-5am		
	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat		
	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	11pm-5am		
St. Paul Park	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	
Stillwater	10pm-5am	10pm-5am	10pm-5am	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	
Woodbury	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	
	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	12am-5 am	12am-5 am	
Dellwood	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	Sun-Thurs	
Denmark Township	10pm-5am	10pm-5am	10pm-5am	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	
Grant	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	Fri-Sat	
Hugo Lake	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	11pm-5am	12am-5am	12am-5am	
Elmo Lake			11pm 0mm	12mii Omii	12WIII OWIII	
St Croix Beach						
Lakeland						
Mahtomedi						
Marine						
Scandia						
Willernie						

RAMSEY COUNTY CURFEW HOURS

It is unlawful for a juvenile to be in a public place in Ramsey County without a parent or guardian between the following hours:

15 years and younger	16 and 17 years old
All Days	All Days
10:00 pm to 05:00 am (04:00 am in Saint Paul)	Midnight to 05:00 am (04:00 am in Saint Paul)

HENNEPIN COUNTY CURFEW HOURS

It is unlawful for a juvenile under the ages listed to be in a public place at the hours listed:

Under 12	12 to 14 years old	15 years years to 17 years old
Sunday - Thursday	Sunday - Thursday	Sunday - Thursday
9:00 pm –5:00 am	10:00 pm – 5:00 am	11:00 pm to 5:00 am
Friday – Saturday	Friday – Saturday	Friday – Saturday
10:00 pm – 5:00 am	11:00 pm - 5:00 am	Midnight – 5:00 am

DAKOTA COUNTY CURFEW HOURS

It is unlawful for any juvenile age 17 and under to be present in any public place within Dakota County between the following hours:

Under 12	12 to 14 years old	15 years years to 17 years old
Sunday - Thursday	Sunday - Thursday	Sunday - Thursday
9:00 pm - 5:00 am	10:00 pm – 5:00 am	11:00 pm – 5:00 am
Friday & Saturday	Friday – Saturday	Friday –Saturday
10:00 pm – 5:00 am	11:00 pm – 5:00 am	Midnight – 5:00 am

TO CALL A RAMSEY COUNTY YOUTH IN AS A RUNAWAY:

For most cities, call the Ramsey County Communication Center :	651-767-0640
St. Anthony Village, Falcon Heights, Lauderdale:	612-782-3350
White Bear Lake:	651-429-8511