Mayor Announces Energy Challenge Grants

Mayor Coleman Announces Energy Challenge Grant Recipients

SAINT PAUL – With a focus on sustainability, Mayor Chris Coleman announced the ten recipients of the 2010 Energy Challenge Grants Wednesday. The non-profit organizations will receive grants averaging $5,000 to provide Saint Paul residents with training and education on reducing their energy use and green house gas emissions. “These grants allow non-profits to help residents save money and conserve energy. I am proud of the steps we have taken in recent years to improve building efficiency, energy production and our environment, and this initiative furthers Saint Paul as a national leader in environmental sustainability,” Mayor Coleman said. To fund these initiatives, the City is utilizing $50,000 in federal stimulus funds provided through the U.S. Department of Energy’s Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant. The Sustainable Saint Paul Energy Challenge Grant recipients are: • Dayton’s Bluff Community Council; • District 2 Community Council; • District 6 Community Council; • East Side Neighborhood Development Company; • Hamline-Midway Coalition; • Payne Phalen District Five Planning Council; • St. Anthony Park Community Council; • Summit-University Planning Council; • Union Park District Council; and • West Side Citizens Organization The grant-funded projects are expected to begin immediately and must be completed by June 30, 2011. ###