
An Equal Opportunity Employer 

Short-term Rental Host License Application 
Licenses are not transferrable 

The following documents and fee must be included with this application.  Applications submitted 
without fully completed, signed documents and required license fee will be not be accepted.  An 
incomplete application will not be considered a placeholder for licenses where availability is limited 
per Section 65.641 of the Saint Paul Legislative Code.  

Requirements: 

• Completed Application

• Addendum to License Application

• Workers’ Compensation Form

• Proof of Insurance (if not renting exclusively through Airbnb, VRBO and/or HomeAway)

• License Payment:  $45.00 (if not provided via Addendum)

*For non-owner-occupied rentals, include:

• Current Fire Certificate of Occupancy or Provisional Fire Certificate of Occupancy Application

 Building 5 or more units 

Short-term Rental Property Information 

Business name, if applicable: 

Address: 

Type of license being applied for: (select one) 

Owner occupied Non-owner occupied 

Select property description: 

 Single family home Duplex Triplex 4plex : 

Airbnb VRBO or HomeAway Other: 

(Any platforms other than Airbnb, VRBO, or HomeAway will require that you submit your own ACORD 
certificate or supply proof of platform’s insurance coverage. 

375 Jackson Street, Suite 220 
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-1806 

Phone: 651-266-8989 Fax: 651-266-8951 
Visit our website at www.stpaul.gov/dsi 
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Applicant’s information required for this application 

If business, select one: Corporation           Partnership         Sole Proprietorship      LLC 

Applicant name/responsible party: Birth date: 

Address: 

Personal phone: E-mail:

Preferred mailing address, if different from company address: 

Supplemental license information 

Local contact/other persons: 

Select type: 

Shareholder Officer Partner Business Manager 

Home address: 

Phone: E-mail:

Affidavit of compliance — SPLC 379.07 (A) Requires any short-term rental host comply with a number 
of general provisions including the following: 

• I certify or declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Minnesota, that the
following is true and correct.  I understand all information provided is subject to verification.

• I will maintain liability insurance of no less than $300,000 dollars throughout the duration of
the license or I will conduct each short-term rental transaction through a short-term rental
platform that provides equal or greater coverage.

• I have submitted a Provisional Fire Certificate of Occupancy Application or the current Fire
Certificate of Occupancy

o (Non-owner occupied license only)

• I will ensure that the following information is posted in a conspicuous location in the dwelling
unit: address, emergency contact information, responsible parties contact information, City of
Saint Paul’s concerns/complaint contact information, floor plan showing emergency/escape
routes and maximum occupancy limits.
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• I will ensure that the licensed dwelling unit has a working smoke detector and carbon monoxide
alarm(s) in every bedroom and on all habitable floors.

• I will ensure that the licensed dwelling unit has a properly maintained and charged fire
extinguisher.

• I will ensure that the licensed dwelling unit complies with all City codes, State statutes and
Federal laws.

• I agree to remit all local, state and federal taxes unless the short-term rental platform remits
these on my behalf.

• I agree to keep a Short-term rental registry for the licensed dwelling unit which includes the
number of nights booked and the amount of rent paid by each guest.

• I agree to provide the Department of Safety and Inspection with accurate information regarding
the name and contact information for a Responsible Party.  I understand that this Responsible
Party must be available if I am outside of the 16 county metro area of Anoka, Carver, Chisago;
Dakota, Goodhue, Hennepin, Isanti, Le Suer, Mcleod, Ramsey, Rice, Scott, Sherburne, Sibley,
Washington or Wright)

• If I am a renter — I hereby certify that I have the consent of the property owner to utilize this

property as a Short-term rental.

I, hereby attest that the above information has been 

completed, is true and correct to the best of my knowledge. I understand that I am required to 

ensure continued compliance with these short-term rental provisions. I understand that the City of 

Saint Paul is authorized to suspend or revoke a permit or license issued in error or on the basis of 

incorrect, inaccurate or any false statement or misrepresentation, or in violation of any City ordinance 

or State statute. 

Falsification of answers given or material submitted will result in denial of application 

I hereby state that I have answered all of the preceding questions and that the information contained 

herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. I hereby state further that I have 

received no money or other consideration, by way of loan, gift, contribution, or otherwise, other than 

already disclosed in the application which I herewith submitted. I also understand this premise may 

be inspected by police, fire, health and other city officials at any and all times when the business is in 

operation. 

Applicant signature (required) Title Date 
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DEPARTMENT OF SAFETY & INSPECTIONS (DSI) 
ANGIE WIESE, PE(MN), CBO, DIRECTOR 

375 Jackson Street, Suite 220 
Saint Paul, MN 55101-1806 

Tel: 651-266-8989 | Fax: 651-266-9124 
Visit our Web Site at: www.stpaul.gov/dsi

ADDENDUM TO  
LICENSE APPLICATION 

CONTAINS NON-PUBLIC DATA 
The City will not share nonpublic account information with other individuals or agencies unless required to do so by a court or other 
competent authority. 

Please type or print in ink. 

 Preferred Phone: _ 

Licensee's Name: 

DBA: 

Business Address: 

Business Phone:  

TAX IDENTIFICATION NUMBER 

Minnesota Statutes section 270C.72 requires licensing authorities to collect a tax identification number for each license applicant. You may 
provide one of the following three identification types: a Minnesota Tax Identification Number, a Federal Tax Identification Number 
(FEIN), or a Social Security Number (SSN). 

This data will be provided to the Minnesota Department of Revenue for tax administration purposes and may be used to deny the issuance 
or renewal of your license in the event you owe Minnesota sales, employer's withholding or motor vehicle excise taxes. Refusal to provide a 
tax identification number will result in denial of your license application. Under the Federal Exchange of Information Agreement, the 
Department of Revenue may also supply this information to the Internal Revenue Service. 

More information can be obtained from the Minnesota Department of Revenue at 651-296-6181 or www.revenue.state.mn.us. 

Tax Identification Number:____________________________________________________

Select type: MN Tax ID           FEIN             SSN

PAYMENT INFORMATION 

You must pay all applicable fees before your license will be issued. You may pay by cash, check or credit card. Account information will be 
used to process your payment, by the City and/or a third-party service provider. 
If you are paying for your permit by American Express, Discover, MasterCard or Visa, please carefully fill in the form below, including your 
signature. You may fax your entire application to our office at: 651-266-9124. 
If paying by check, please mail the application and payment to us at: 375 Jackson Street, Suite 220, St. Paul, MN 55101. 

Zip Code: Signature: 

 AMEX  Visa  MasterCard   Discover EXP (MM/YY) 
Verification 
code (CVV2) 

Account 
Number: 

Note: A 2.49% service fee will be charged for all credit/debit card transactions. 



Certificate of Compliance 
Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Law

PRINT IN INK or TYPE. 

Minnesota Statutes, Section 176.182 requires every state and local licensing agency to withhold the issuance or renewal of a license or permit 
to operate a business or engage in any activity in Minnesota until the applicant presents acceptable evidence of compliance with the workers' 
compensation insurance coverage requirement of Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 176. The required workers’ compensation insurance 
information is the name of the insurance company, the policy number, and the dates of coverage, or the permit to self-insure. If the required 
information is not provided or is falsely stated, it shall result in a $2,000 penalty assessed against the applicant by the commissioner of the 
Department of Labor and Industry. 

A valid workers’ compensation policy must be kept in effect at all times by employers as required by law. 

BUSINESS NAME (Individual name only if no company name used) LICENSE OR PERMIT NO (if applicable) 

DBA (doing business as name) (if applicable) 

BUSINESS ADDRESS (PO Box must include street address) CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

INSURANCE COMPANY NAME (not the insurance agent) 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE POLICY NO. EFFECTIVE DATE EXPIRATION DATE 

NUMBER 2  COMPLETE THIS PORTION IF SELF-INSURED: 
 I have attached a copy of the permit to self-insure. 

NUMBER 3  COMPLETE THIS PORTION IF EXEMPT: 
I am not required to have workers’ compensation insurance coverage because: 

 I have no employees. 
 I have employees but they are not covered by the workers’ compensation law. (See Minn. Stat. § 176.041 for a list of 
excluded employees.) Explain why your employees are not covered:      . 

 Other: . 

ALL APPLICANTS COMPLETE THIS PORTION: 
I certify that the information provided on this form is accurate and complete. If I am signing on behalf of a 
business, I certify that I am authorized to sign on behalf of the business. 
APPLICANT SIGNATURE (mandatory) TITLE DATE 

NOTE:  If your Workers’ Compensation policy is cancelled within the license or permit period, you must notify 
the agency who issued the license or permit by resubmitting this form. 

This material can be made available in different forms, such as large print, Braille or on a tape. To request, call 
1-800-342-5354 (DIAL-DLI) Voice or TDD (651) 297-4198.

MN LIC 04 (11/08) 

YOUR LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE WILL NOT BE ISSUED WITHOUT THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION. 
You must complete number 1, 2 or 3 below. 

NUMBER 1  COMPLETE THIS PORTION IF YOU HAVE INSURANCE: 
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