
Water Usage

Water usage is based on the meter reading for the 
current period.  ESTIMATE indicates we were unable 
to read the meter.  If your current bill is estimated , 
call the Meter Office at 651-266-6850 to schedule an 
appointment as we need to get inside and 
troubleshoot the metering problem. 
Note: One billing unit equals 100 cu. ft. or 748 
gallons of water.
Billing Periods

Accounts are billed quarterly for residential and 
monthly for commercial.

Water Rate Settings

Water rates are changed periodically to cover 
increased costs for water treatment, chemicals, 
electric power, fuel, maintenance of the supply and 
distribution systems, and other general expenses .  
Changes in water rates are proposed by resolution of 
the Board of Water Commissioners and put into 
effect upon confirmation by the Saint Paul City 
Council.

Water Consumption Charges

Winter*                $4.38 per 100cu.ft.
Summer**        $4.52 per 100cu.ft.

For accounts with 1-inch and smaller meters:
* Winter rates apply to bills sent during January 

through May, and December.

** Summer rates apply to bills sent during June 

through November.

For accounts with 1 1/2 -inch and larger meters:
* Winter rates apply to bills sent during January 

through April, November and December.

** Summer rates  apply to bills sent during May 

through October.

Water - Surcharge

A 5% surcharge on current water charges (Water 

Service Base Fee and Water Usage Charge) is 

collected each billing cycle by the Saint Paul 

Regional Water Services on behalf of the City of 

Mendota Heights. 

Sales Tax

A 6.875% state sales tax is applied to 

non-residential accounts.

Transit Tax

A 0.25% transit tax is applied to non-residential 

accounts located  in Dakota and Washington 

counties.

Metro Area Sales and Use Tax for Housing

A 0.25% tax is applied to non-residential 

accounts. 

Metro Area Transportation Sales and Use Tax

A 0.75% tax is applied to non-residential 

accounts.

Minnesota Safe Drinking Water Act
The Minnesota Department of Health via the Federal 

Safe Drinking Water Act (Statute 144.3831) requires 

we charge 81 cents per month or $2.43 per quarter 

for testing public water supplies.

Meter Reading Fee

Per reading fee for the properties that have an 
exterior-mounted, non-radio metering system 
(Touchpad)

Bill Problems
If you dispute this bill, please call 651-266-6350.  You 
are entitled to a hearing before an impartial hearing 
officer who will make a recommendation regarding 
resolution of your concerns.

Payment Responsibility
Property owners are responsible for all water bills 
issued against their property.  If a property owner 
desires to have the bills sent  to a tenant, SPRWS 
will agree to do so; however, all charges for water 
and sewer services are a continuing statutory lien 
against the property until they are paid.  Unpaid 
charges that are delinquent as of September 1st of 
each year may be certified to the County Auditor, at 
SPRWS' discretion, to be collected with the real 
estate taxes for the property.

Late Charge

Water bills are considered delinquent if not paid 
within 30 days of the Bill Date, at which time a 5% 
late charge will be added to your bill.

Returned Checks

A $30.00 fee will be charged for all returned check 
and "Automatic Withdrawal" returns.

NOTE:  "Due Date" means date to be received by 
SPRWS.  SPRWS is not responsible for late 
payments caused by a delay in the mail service.

Pay using Automatic Withdrawal
You can pay your water bill directly from your bank 
account. For further information call customer service 
at the numbers below.

Saint Paul Regional Water Services
SPRWS is a publicly owned corporation operating as 
a self-supporting non-profit entity.  It is financed 
solely by the sales of water and fees for other 
services.  It receives no other outside financial 
support or tax subsidy.

WATER SERVICES PHONE NUMBERS
  Customer Service             651-266-6350
  Call: 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.    Mon - Fri
EMERGENCY SERVICE      651-266-6868

1-inch single family dwelling is an account with 

1" meter for which the property structure is 

described in County Property Tax Records as 

either Single Family Dwelling or Townhome.

Water Service Base Fee
A water service base fee shall be charged to all 
active domestic and commercial water service 
accounts in the SPRWS service area.  The amount 
of the fee shall be determined by water meter size 
and shall be applied during established billing cycles, 
as shown below

Water Main Replacement Surcharge
A charge of 26 cents per billing unit is added to pay 

for the replacement of water main.

Bill Cycle

per quarter

per quarter

per quarter

per month

per month

per month

per month

per month

per month

per month

Meter Size

< 1"

1"(Single Family)

1"(other)

1 1/2"

2"

3"

4"

6"

8"

10"

Service Base Fee

$23.82

$23.82

$59.55

$39.70

$63.52

$127.04

$198.50

$397.00

$635.20

$913.10


