This application must be postmarked by March 31, 2019, or it will not be approved for LIRC taxes payable in 2020. 


	Property and Owner Information

	Minnesota Housing D# (if applicable)
[bookmark: _GoBack]     
	Ownership entity name or name of property owner (first, middle, last)
     

	Owner’s mailing address (street address or PO box)
     
	City
     
	State
     
	Zip Code
     

	Name of eligible property (project)
     

	Primary address of eligible property (street address)
     
	City
     
	MN
	Zip Code
     

	Contact name (first, last)
     
	Daytime phone
     
	Alternate phone
     
	E-mail
       
	
	



	County PINS
List the county parcel ID numbers (PINS/PIDS) and parcel addresses that identify the primary address above. If there are more than two PINS/PIDS, list any additional PINS/PIDS and addresses on a separate sheet and attach it to this application. 

	PINS/PIDS
     
	Address
     
	City
     
	MN
	Zip Code
     

	PINS/PIDS
     
	Address
     
	City
     
	MN
	Zip Code
     



	Qualification Type
I certify that this property is eligible for LIRC under the following category (check all that apply). Then, enter the number of units qualified for each category on the right.
	# of Units

	|_| The units are subject to a project-based housing assistance payments (HAP) contract under Section 8 of the United States Housing Act of 1937.
	1.       

	|_| The units are rent-restricted and income-restricted units of a qualified low-income housing project receiving tax credits under Section 42(g) of the Internal Revenue Code.
	2.       

	|_| The units are financed by the Rural Housing Service (RHS) of the United States Department of Agriculture and receive payments under the rental assistance program pursuant to Section 521(a) of the Housing Act of 1949.
	3.       

	|_| The units are subject to 60% or less of AMI rent and income restrictions, as specified in statute, under the terms of financing provided to the rental housing property by the federal government, the state of Minnesota, or a local unit of government, as evidenced by a document recorded against the property.
	4.       



	Units

	Qualified Units – sum of units indicated in boxes 1-4 above
	5.            

	Total of all rental units in property 
	6.            

	Qualifying percentage – divide line 5 by line 6 
	7.             %

	Total annual, non-refundable fee – multiply line 5 by $10 and enter the result (maximum of $150)
	8.            



	Proof of Qualification
To receive LIRC status you must submit the supporting documentation according to each applicable qualification type.

	|_| Section 8 HAP contract.
	Expiration Date:      

	|_| The Section 42(g) Land Use Restriction Agreement (LURA); or, if the LURA is not yet recorded, confirmation of an allocation of tax credits for the property and a verification of the “Placed in Service” date.
	Expiration Date:      

	|_| The United States Department of Agriculture Rural Development subsidy contract.
	Expiration Date:      

	|_| The recorded document restricting income and rents under the terms of the financing provided by the federal government, the state of Minnesota, or a local unit of government.
	Expiration Date:      




	Owner Certification and Signature

	I certify that all information provided is true and correct, that I am duly authorized to sign, that the property meets the requirement(s) to receive the LIRC tax reduction and is in compliance with all applicable requirements of the low-income housing program that qualifies the property for LIRC. I understand that any false information or low-income housing program non-compliance could result in LIRC non-compliance and loss of some or all LIRC benefits.

	Signature of property owner


	Date
     


	[image: ]
	Low Income Rental Classification (LIRC) 
2019 Initial Application
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General Information

Application: This application is for new applicants who have not previously applied for LIRC status.

Eligibility: Properties must satisfy the requirements of Minn. Stat. 273.128, which applies to Minnesota rental properties in which at least 20 percent of total units meet any of the following requirements: 
· Units subject to a project-based housing assistance payments (HAP) contract under Section 8,
· Rent and income restricted Section 42(g) Low Income Housing Tax Credit units,
· Rural Housing Service Rental Assistance units, or
· Units financed by federal, state or local governments, which are subject to 60% or less of AMI rent and income limits and evidenced by a recorded document.  Refer to LIRC guide and statute for further information.

What is the application deadline for 2019? Applications, remittances and supporting documentation must be mailed and postmarked no later than March 31, 2019.
How will I know if my application was accepted?  We will notify applicants of their application status once it is processed.
When will LIRC take effect?  Approved and certified properties will see the tax rate reduction on their tax bill payable in 2020. 
What is the owner’s responsibility? Reapply annually; continue to comply with the requirements of LIRC and maintain compliance with the applicable low-income housing program that qualifies the property for LIRC.
What if the ownership or mailing address changes? Property owners should notify Minnesota Housing of any ownership or mailing address changes.  

Application Instructions

General: Completely fill out the application. Incomplete information may result in delaying or rejecting the application. 

Property and Owner Information and PINS: Complete all fields. The ‘Ownership Entity Name’ should match the property tax statement. Enter the PINS/PIDS and parcel address as shown on your property tax statement. The accuracy of this information is important for reporting to the assessor offices.

Qualification Type: Check the box(es) that apply to the property. Enter the number of qualifying units subject to the rent and income restrictions that are indicated in the contract or restrictive covenant. 

Units: 
· Enter the sum of qualifying units in the Qualification Type section. 
· Enter the total number of units in the property.
· Calculate the qualifying percentage by dividing the number of qualified units by the total number of units; round the percentage to the nearest whole number.
· Calculate the non-refundable application fee of $10 per qualified unit; maximum of $150.

Proof of Qualification: Enter the expiration date of the applicable Project-based HAP contract, Section 42(g) restrictions, Rural Housing contract, or recorded document.

Owner Certification and Signature: Sign and date the form to certify that at least 20 percent of total property units qualify for the Low Income Rental Classification and that the property is in compliance with all LIRC requirements and all applicable requirements of the low-income housing program that qualifies the property for LIRC.

Mailing Instructions: 
· Complete and sign the application form.
· Include a check for the non-refundable fee amount, payable to Minnesota Housing. 
· Attach a copy of the documentation, which proves your qualification for LIRC.
· Make a copy of the application for your records. 
· Mail to: Minnesota Housing, Attn: LIRC, 400 Wabasha Street North, Suite 400, St. Paul, MN 55102-1109.

For More Information
  
800.657.3647 | 651.297.4065 | TTY: 651.297.2361 | Minnesota Relay Service: 800.627.3529 | www.mnhousing.gov

Use of Information
Some of the information you provide on your application may be private by state law. Signing this form gives consent to Minnesota Housing to share this information and the supporting documentation with county or city assessors or with such entities as may be needed to verify LIRC eligibility, including HUD, USDA, and other government entities.  
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