
Minnesota Safe Drinking Water Act
The Minnesota Department of Health via the 

Federal Safe Drinking Water Act (Statute 

144.3831) requires we charge 53 cents per 

month or $1.59 per quarter for testing public 

water supplies.

Water Main Replacement Surcharge
A charge of 20 cents per billing unit is added 
to pay for the replacement of water main.

Bill Problems
If you dispute this bill, please call 
651-266-6350.  You are entitled to a hearing 
before an impartial hearing officer who will 
make a recommendation regarding 
resolution of your concerns.

Payment Responsibility
Property owners are responsible for all 
water bills issued against their property.  If a 
property owner desires to have the bills sent  
to a tenant, the SPRWS will agree to do so; 
however, all charges for water and sewer 
services are a continuing statutory lien 
against the property until they are paid.  
Unpaid charges that are delinquent as of 
November 15th of each year may be 
certified to the County Auditor, at the 
SPRWS' discretion, to be collected with the 
real estate taxes for the property.

Late Charge
Water bills are considered delinquent if not  
paid within 30 days, at which time a 5% late 
charge will be added to your bill.

Returned Checks
A $30.00 fee will be charged for all returned 
check and "Automatic Withdrawal" returns.

The Saint Paul Regional Water Services
SPRWS is a publicly owned corporation 
operating as a self-supporting non-profit 
entity.  It is financed solely by the sales of 
water and fees for other services.  It 
receives no other outside financial support 
or tax subsidy.

WATER SERVICES PHONE NUMBERS
  Customer Service             651-266-6350
  TDD Hearing Impaired      651-266-6299
  Call: 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.    Mon - Fri
EMERGENCY SERVICE      651-266-6868

Water Usage
Water usage is based on the meter reading for the 
current period.  ESTIMATE indicates we were unable 
to read the meter.  If your current bill is estimated , 
call Meter Office at 651-266-6850 to schedule an 
appointment as we need to get inside and 
troubleshoot the metering problem. Note:  100 cu. ft. 

of water equals 1 unit or 748 gallons .

Billing Periods
Accounts are billed quarterly for residential and 
monthly for commercial.

_____________________________________
NOTE:  "Due Date" means date to be received by 

the SPRWS.  The SPRWS is not responsible for 

late payments caused by a delay in the mail 

service.

_____________________________________
Water Rate Settings
Water rates are changed periodically to cover 
increased costs for water treatment, chemicals, 
electric power, fuel, maintenance of the supply and 
distribution systems, and other general expenses .  
Changes in water rates are proposed by resolution of 
the Board of Water Commissioners and put into 
effect upon confirmation by the Saint Paul City 
Council.

Water Usage Charges

Winter*                $2.52 per 100cu.ft.
Summer**        $2.62 per 100cu.ft.

For accounts with 1-inch and smaller meters:
* Winter rates apply to bills sent during January 

through May, and December.

** Summer rates apply to bills sent during June 

through November.

For accounts with 1 1/2 -inch and larger meters:
* Winter rates apply to bills sent during January 

through April, November and December.

** Summer rates  apply to bills sent during May 

through October.

About Sewer Charges

Saint Paul Regional Water Services handles 
only the billing services for Lauderdale sewer 
customers.  All other aspects of the sewer 
utility continue to be operated and 
maintained by the City of Lauderdale.  
Sanitary sewer charges pay for the 
operation, maintenance, and capital cost of 
Lauderdale’s sewer system, and for 
treatment costs levied by the Metropolitan 
Council, Environmental Services Division.

Sewer Rate Settings

Sanitary sewer and miscellaneous service 
charges are established annually by your 
City Council.  If you have any questions 
about your rates, please call:
    City of Lauderdale           651-792-7650

Sanitary Sewer Rates

Residential Properties:
A flat rate of $52.77 per residential unit will 
be assessed per quarter.  

Commercial Properties:
The sanitary sewer charge per month will be 
based on $2.60 per unit of water 
consumption, with a minimum monthly 
charge of $13.00.

Storm Sewer Rates

A flat rate of $15.27 per REF (Residential 
Equivalency Factor) will be assessed for all 
properties per quarter. 

Sales Tax

A 6.875% state sales tax is applied to 

non-residential accounts.

Transit Tax

A 0.25% transit tax is applied to 

non-residential accounts.

Meter Reading Fee

Per reading fee for the properties that have 

an exterior-mounted, non-radio metering 

system (Touchpad)

.
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Water Service Base Fee

The water service base fee covers such 

costs as general administration, billing, 

accounting, customer service, etc.

Service Base Fee

$15.00

$37.50

$75.00

$25.00

$40.00

$80.00

$125.00

$250.00

$400.00

$575.00


