Saint Paul Minnesota The most livable city in America.
Go To Search
Transportation Committee

The Transportation Committee will meet as needed on 2015 Meetings Dates. Meetings will be cancelled if there is not a quorum expected, or if there are no agenda items. Meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Monday of the month from 4:00 - 5:30 p.m., in the City Hall Annex, 25 West 4th Street, 13th floor conference room. The Transportation Committee is staffed by Hilary Holmes. If you would like to receive meeting agendas via email, please email 

 Date Materials
 January 13, 2014 01/13/14 Agenda
01/13/14 Packet
01/13/14 Packet - Accessible
 January 27, 2014 01/27/14 Agenda
01/27/14 Packet
01/27/14 Packet - Accessible
 February 10, 2014 02/10/14 Packet
 February 24, 2014 02/24/14 Packet 
02/24/14 Packet - Accessible
02/24/14 TC to PC Memo - Streetcar Feas. Study
 March 10, 2014 03/10/14 Packet 
03/10/14 FESTEC Final Report
03/10/14 FESTEC Lit Review
03/10/14 REVISED Agenda
 March 24, 2014 03/24/14 REVISED Agenda 
03/24/14 Packet
 April 7, 2014  04/07/14 Agenda
 April 21, 2014 04/21/14 Agenda
04/21/14 TIGER VI Planning Grant Letters of Support
 May 5, 2014 05/05/14 Packet
 May 19, 2014 05/19/14 Packet
 June 2, 2014 06-02-14 Agenda 
 June 16, 2014 06-16-14 Packet
 July 14, 2014 07-14-14 Agenda
07-14-14 Complete Streets staff report
07-14-14 Complete Streets DRAFT Design Manual
*this is a large file and may take a while to download
 July 28, 2014 *Meeting cancelled
 August 25, 2014  08-25-14 Packet
 September 8, 2014  09-08-14 Packet
 September 22, 2014  09-22-14 Packet
 October 6, 2014 10-06-14 Packet
St Paul Bikeways Plan presentation 10-6-14
The draft Plan is available at
 October 20, 2014 10-20-14 TC Packet
 November 3, 2014 11-03-14 TC Packet 
 November 17, 2014 11-17-14 Packet
 January 12, 2015  01-12-15 Packet

Staff Resources
If you are a staff person looking to bring an item to the committee, please reference the following resources.

Transportation Programs public process

At the direction of the Mayor and City Council, the Planning Commission established a Transportation Committee in 2010. The Transportation Committee advises the Planning Commission on transportation-related plans, policies, and projects.


The Transportation Committee advises the Planning Commission on transportation planning and project decisions, and creates a transparent public forum for such discussions. The committee’s work helps the Planning Commission better integrate land use and transportation decisions as they relate to zoning, neighborhood and comprehensive planning, and infrastructure investments.  The Committee has been asked to: 
  • Implement policies and projects from the recently updated Transportation Chapter of the Comprehensive Plan. Review transportation-related zoning amendments/studies, guide new modal plans, and oversee the work of any transportation issue task forces that may be convened.
  • Review proposals on large or complex Public Works projects.
  • Assist in the review of land use recommendations in neighborhood and small area plans to ensure they are consistent with goals to expand multi-modal transportation options, and that any transportation recommendations are consistent with citywide plans and existing systems.
  • Advise, where needed, on site plans or development concepts to ensure true transportation options.
  • Review planning or design documents for consistency with “Complete Streets” approach and Universal Design guidelines.
  • Engage in regional/interagency projects. Coordinate with the regional and federal governments in transportation planning, and provide guidance for priorities on funding opportunities.

The Transportation Committee consists of four Planning Commissioners, and up to eight additional community members, including people who represent the following areas of interest, or multiple interests:

  • Transit, including bus and passenger rail
  • Pedestrian/walkability issues
  • Bicyclists
  • Freight and logistics industry, including trucking, rail operations, and airports
  • Accessibility representatives or persons with disabilities
  • Representatives of commercial corridors (i.e., small business owners)
  • Downtown or business representatives.

The non-Planning Commission members are appointed by the chair of the Planning Commission. Committee members must live or work in Saint Paul and will be appointed for a term of 3 years. The Transportation Committee currently includes the following members:
  • Jim Barton        
  • Daniel Dunn 
  • Thomas Heinl  
  • Ian Houmas
  • Olivia Jefferson
  • Bill Lindeke*
  • Chris Ochs*        
  • John Tompkins   
  • Jessica Treat
  • Wendy Underwood*
  • Jun-Li Wang*
  • Anne White   

*Planning Commissioner

Read biographies for the current Transportation Committee members.

Current Projects and Partnerships

Home | Contact | Site Map | Accessibility | Disability Access | Policies & Practices | Copyright Notices | Powered by CivicPlus