Mayor Coleman and City Council announce 2017 Sustainable Saint Paul Award winners

Mayor Chris Coleman and Saint Paul City Council today (April 19, 2017) announced the winners of the 2017 Sustainable Saint Paul Awards. The winners were chosen based upon their exceptional environmental leadership and dedication to sustainability in 13 different categories.

"Sustainable practices, projects and innovations benefit our planet, our community and our economy,” said Mayor Coleman. "These awards are a way for us to highlight some of the innovators right here in Saint Paul, and encourage individuals and businesses to continue our city’s reputation of being a leader in sustainability.”

The Sustainable Saint Paul Awards is in its 11th year, and was created under Mayor Coleman as a way to honor individuals and organizations across Saint Paul who demonstrate a commitment to the environment. By sponsoring these awards, the Mayor encourages all residents, businesses, community groups and non-profits in Saint Paul to follow suit, and implement similar projects of their own in the future.

“From the private sector to our schools and recreation centers, it is vital that we continue to focus on being more sustainable, and more resilient to climate change,” said Council President Russ Stark. “These awards allow us to highlight progress being made around Saint Paul, and inspire others to make their own contributions to our city’s sustainability.”

Award categories include beautification, green building design, water quality and conservation and more. Some of this year’s winners include: Saint Paul Public Housing Agency, Hamline SPROUT Garden, Tech Dump and Madison Equities. For a full list of this year's winners, visit