Saint Paul Police Department announces dates, locations of 2018 Safe Summer Nights Cookouts

Good news: Safe Summer Nights is back!

The Saint Paul Police Department and the Safe Summer Nights organization have announced the dates and locations of this year’s Safe Summer Nights community cookouts.  

The free, public events provide opportunities for community members and police officers to get to know one another—over a meal and through fun activities. Free hotdogs, hamburgers, potato chips and beverages are served. Faces are painted, bouncy houses are inflated, climbing walls are ascended (thanks to Saint Paul Parks and Recreation) and connections between community members and their police officers are strengthened.  

In addition to patrol officers, members of the department’s Canine, Mounted Patrol and Motors Units also attend. Members of Saint Paul Parks and Recreation, the Fire and other departments are also there.  

SSN 2018

The food is donated by the Safe Summer Nights organization, which is a group of business owners and volunteers who are dedicated to strengthening connections between officers and the people they serve.

The initiative began in 2014. Since then, tens of thousands of meals have been served—and countless relationships have been built.

All events are from 5 to 7 p.m. A complete list of Safe Summer Nights events follows.

Thursday, May 31

Scheffer Recreation Center (237 Thomas Ave. W.)

Thursday, June 14

North Dale Community Center (1414 St. Alban St. N.)

Thursday, June 21

Wilder Recreation Center (958 Jessie St.)

Thursday, June 28

Rice Street Recreation Center (1021 Marion St.)

Thursday, July 12

West Minnehaha Recreation Center (685 Minnehaha Ave. W.)

Thursday, July 19

Dayton’s Bluff Recreation Center (800 Conway St.)

Thursday, July 26

Baker Recreation Center (209 W. Page St.)

Thursday, Aug. 2

Palace Recreation Community Center (791 Palace Ave.)

Thursday, Aug. 9

Conway Recreation Center (2090 Conway St.)

Thursday, Aug. 16

Oxford Community Center (270 Lexington Pkwy. N.)

Thursday, Aug. 23

Arlington Hills Recreation Center (1200 Payne Ave.)

Thursday, Aug. 30

McDonough Recreation Center (1544 Timberlake Rd.)