The City of Saint Paul is pleased to announce that four newly elected councilmembers will join the Saint Paul City Council next year alongside three returning councilmembers in the first all-women council in city history. A majority of the councilmembers are women of color, and all are younger than the age of 40.

We invite the community to gather for the swearing-in of the newly elected and returning councilmembers at an inauguration ceremony on Jan. 9, 2024, at 3:30 p.m. (Doors open at 3:00 p.m.). The ceremony will take place at the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts in Saint Paul. 

The three returning councilmembers: Councilmember Rebecca Noecker, Ward 2, begins her third term; Councilmember Mitra Jalali, Ward 4, begins her third term; and Councilmember Nelsie Yang, Ward 6, begins her second term. 

The four newly elected councilmembers include: Anika Bowie, Ward 1; Saura Jost, Ward 3; Hwa Jeong Kim, Ward 5; and Cheniqua Johnson, Ward 7. 

Read on to learn more about the newly elected councilmembers and inauguration ceremony or visit the Saint Paul City Council homepage for more information on our outgoing and returning councilmembers.

Meet the new councilmembers for wards 1, 3, 5, 7

Ward 1 – Anika Bowie

Councilmember-elect Anika Bowie is a life-long Saint Paul resident, a big sister, a proud aunt, an entrepreneur, a creative in the field of arts for social change, a community organizer, and a policy strategist. Bowie has worked on grassroots campaigns for 12 years and has talked with thousands of voters to help elect progressive candidates across the country. 

For nearly 100 years, Bowie's family has made Saint Paul their home. She is a proud alumna of Saint Paul Central High School and Hamline University in Saint Paul.

Contact: | 651-266-8610

Ward 1 councilmember-elect Anika Bowie smiling in front of a sunflower mural.

Ward 3 – Saura Jost

Councilmember-elect Saura Jost is a community leader, an engineer, and a mom. As a civil engineer, she has worked on building a Minnesota public infrastructure designed to work for everyone. 

Jost has called Saint Paul home nearly all her life. She graduated from Saint Paul Public Schools and has been civically active since she was young. Jost has campaigned for several politicians, including John Kerry, Amy Klobuchar, and former Saint Paul Mayor Chris Coleman. Most recently, she has been proud to serve on the Macalester Groveland Community Council.

Contact: | 651-266-8630

Ward 3 councilmember elect Saura Jost wearing a white shirt and lavender blazer standing on a city street corner and smiling.

Ward 5 – Hwa Jeong Kim

Councilmember-elect Hwa Jeong Kim is an organizer, Korean American, nonprofit executive director, and graduate of Hamline University in Saint Paul. She is a proud North End resident who was first inspired to get involved through volunteering at the Rice Street branch of the Saint Paul Public Library. She went on to serve as part of the North End Neighborhood Organization, the Saint Paul Planning Commission and its zoning committee. From 2018 to 2021, she was the Legislative Aide for Ward 5. 

Kim has spent the last several years working to elect diverse, progressive candidates to offices throughout Saint Paul. She currently serves as the executive director of Minnesota Voice, a nonprofit focused on voting rights, voting access, civic engagement, and education.

Contact: | 651-266-8650

Ward 5 councilmember elect Hwa Jeong Kim stands smiling in front of the Como Pavilion in winter.

Ward 7 – Cheniqua Johnson

Councilmember-elect Cheniqua Johnson is a lifelong Minnesotan and proud first-generation homeowner on Saint Paul's East Side. Grounded in her family values, Johnson has dedicated her life to organizing and advocating to build a better Minnesota. She graduated from the University of Minnesota as the first person in her family to receive a four-year degree and has spent her career working alongside elected officials to serve Minnesota residents.

As outreach and inclusion officer for the Minnesota Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party (DFL), Johnson has worked with leaders statewide to support Democratic campaigns across the ballot. In her role as program officer at the Saint Paul and Minnesota Foundation and the East Side Funders Group, she helped bring over $2 million in resources to improve health and wellness in her community. She is also proud to have served on the 2022 Saint Paul Police Chief Selection Committee.

Contact: | 651-266-8670

Ward 7 councilmember elect Cheniqua Johnson wearing a blouse and black blazer, standing smiling against a brick wall with a mural.

Attend the inauguration

The inauguration ceremony is open to the public and will be followed by a reception. 

When: 3:30 p.m. on Jan. 9, 2024 

Doors open at 3 p.m. 

Where: Ordway Center for the Performing Arts – Concert Hall

345 Washington St.

Saint Paul, MN  55102

Watch the inauguration from home

The ceremony will be taped live and may be viewed on cable channel 18, Facebook Live, or at

First City Council meeting on January 10

The Saint Paul City Council will conduct its first official meeting of the year on Wednesday, Jan. 10, 2024, at 3:30 p.m. in City Hall, 15 W Kellogg Blvd, Saint Paul, MN, Council Chambers – Room 300.  The meeting agenda and livestream will be available at

Last Edited: January 5, 2024