Mission Statement

Water resources and related ecosystems are managed to sustain their long-term health and integrity through member city collaboration and partnerships with other water management organizations with member city citizen support and participation.  

Organization Information

The Lower Mississippi River Watershed Management Organization (LMRWMO) covers 35,493 acres (55.8 square miles) and is composed of seven cities partially or wholly within the organization’s boundaries. The LMRWMO member cities are: Inver Grove Heights, Lilydale, Mendota Heights, St. Paul, South St. Paul, Sunfish Lake, and West St. Paul. Surface water in the LMRWMO ultimately discharges to the Mississippi River.


Regular Board of Managers meetings are held the 2nd Wednesday of each month at 3:00 p.m. No meetings are typically held in January or July. Meeting locations vary and rotate around the member community's City Halls. 

Member Requirements

The WMO Board of Managers consists of seven members appointed by their respective municipalities. Each city may appoint one manager and one alternate. The Council of each member city determines the eligibility or qualification of its representative and they are not required to reside within the WMO boundaries. City staff may not be appointed as managers or alternates. Vacancies in the office of manager shall be filled within 90 days after they occur. The managers do not have a fixed term but shall serve at the pleasure of their appointing municipality. 

Powers & Duties

Water Management Organizations strive to:

  • Preserve and use natural water storage and retention systems, which will provide opportunities to reduce public expenditures to control excessive volume and rates of runoff
  • Improve water quality
  • Prevent flooding and erosion
  • Promote groundwater replacement
  • Protect and enhance wildlife habitat and water recreational facilities

Water Management Organizations are charged with:

  • Overseeing compliance of local water management plans with the watershed management plan and amending the plans as needed
  • Providing a forum for settling inter-community disputes
  • Establishing capital improvement programs as needed

Contact Information

Joe Barten, LMRWMO Administrator c/o Dakota County Soil and Water Conservation District
4100 220th St. West, Suite 102, Farmington, MN 55024  

(651) 480-7784
Visit the Watershed Website

Last Edited: June 10, 2021