Code Requirements All work must be performed to the standards of the latest edition of the National Electrical Code adopted by the State of Minnesota and other relevant requirements such as Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA), which will be enforced by Fire Inspections. Contact the Fire Inspection Office at 651-266-8989 for additional information.

Application Requirements


Fire Engineering

**You may also apply for both permits by going to Saint Paul Online Services and filling out an electrical application. Doing so will automatically create both your electrical and fire engineering applications.


Alarm systems in multifamily, commercial, and industrial buildings with plans may be submitted to this office prior to installation. After any alarm system is completed, a performance test must be done with both the electrical inspector and Fire Inspector present. Call the electrical inspector listed on your permit between 7:30 am and 9:00 am. A fire inspection shall be requested by filling out and faxing an Alarm Inspection Request form.


Electrical Permit Application

Per Control Panel$78.00
Per Device (Horn, Strobe, Pull Station, Etc.)$1.88
Minimum Fee$78.00
Minimum State Surcharge$1.00

Fire Engineering Application

Flat Fee$78.00
Fire Alarm Control Panel$22.00
Per device (horn, strobe, pull station, etc.)$2.00
Plan Review (required for over 100 devices)65%
Minimum State surcharge$1.00


Each permit issued shall expire if the work authorized by the permit is not commenced within 180 days from the date issued, or if the work is suspended or abandoned at any time after the work has begun for a period of 180 days. In addition, exterior work done on a single-family or two-family dwelling (including garages) must be completed within one year from the date issued. Interior and exterior work done on commercial properties (including hotels and apartment buildings) where the permit valuation is under $500,000 must be completed within one year from the date issued. See Chapter 33.04 of the Saint Paul Legislative Code and section 3800.3780 Subpart of the Minnesota Rules.


Contact the Electrical Inspection Department at 651-266-9003 (7:30 am to 9:00 am Monday-Friday), or send an email to the DSI Message Center.

For questions concerning device location or plan approval, contact Saint Paul Fire Inspections at 651-266-8989.

For questions about state standards, contact the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry at 651-284-5064.

Last Edited: July 10, 2023