Climate Justice Definition

To achieve equitable and just outcomes, we must ensure equity and inclusion are centered in decision-making and utilize a climate justice lens. Climate Justice aims to establish a world where everyone has dignity and can thrive. Climate Justice is realized  when the residents and communities  that experience   the most harm from unhealthful air and water, the urban heat island effect, fewer trees and less access to greenspace, and other inequities related to environmental racism, are prioritized with investments that lead to cleaner air and water, more energy-efficient and healthful homes and businesses, equal access to greenspace, and accelerated economic opportunity. 

A Climate Just Saint Paul looks like a community in which there are equitable and sustainable systems so that everyone has dignity and can thrive by having access to clean air and water, greenspaces and natural areas, economic stability and mobility, healthy food, affordable and safe housing and neighborhoods, and a safe and quality education.   

Climate Justice Advisory Board Bylaws

Climate Justice Advisory Board Meetings

CJAB Meetings are held the second Thursday of each month. CJAB Meeting’s are currently being held virtually via Teams. CJAB meetings are open to the public and information on joining a meeting is below

Please Email the CJAB city staff liaison if there are any questions:

Upcoming Meetings

Thursday October 14th @ 6-7:30 PM

Microsoft Teams meeting

Join on your computer or mobile app

Click here to join the meeting

Or call in (audio only)

+1 612-315-7905,,999671592#   United States, Minneapolis

Phone Conference ID: 999 671 592#

Find a local number | Reset PIN

Learn More | Meeting options

Upcoming Agenda

6:05pm Review last month’s meeting minutes; approve this month’s agenda 

6:10pm Introductions, welcome members of the public 

6:20pm Line 3 conversation Guest speaker: City Attorney Rachel Tierney 

  1. Overview of topic (Russ & Janiece) 

  • Lobbying 
  • City-initiated/specific issue 
  • Goal: resolve and move on 
  • What does “success” (or resolution) on this topic look like? Small group norming? 

6:50pm Sustainable Building Code presentation  Guest speaker: Kurt Schultz  

  • Building code changes  
  • Improving state code to support sustainable building codes 

7:20pm Updates: 

  • From city staff (Russ-meeting time, Carlos-web) 
  • From the Executive Committee  

  • From Board Members 

7:30pm Adjourn 



Climate Action & Resilience Plan

Last Edited: October 14, 2021