Planning Commission

About the Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is a 21-member advisory body made up of citizen volunteers appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council. The Commission and its sub-committees (Zoning CommitteeComprehensive Planning CommitteeTransportation Committee and Neighborhood Planning Committee) take on municipal planning issues as required by law. It reviews and makes recommendations on comprehensive planning and zoning issues, studies, and amendments.  The Planning Commission also holds public hearings where members of the public can be heard.


  • Aquanetta Anderson
  • Cedrick Baker (Secretary)
  • Anne DeJoy (Neighborhood Planning Committee Chair)
  • ​Daniel Edgerton
  • Kris Fredson
  • Taqee Khaled​
  • Chong Lee 
  • William Lindeke (Transportation Committee Chair)
  • Kyle Makarios (Second Vice-Chair & Zoning Committee Chair)
  • Kathy Mouacheupao
  • Christopher Ochs
  • Trevor Oliver 
  • Adrian Perryman
  • ​Luis Rangel Morales
  • John Reich
  • Betsy Reveal (Chair)​
  • Terri Thao (First Vice-Chair & Comprehensive Planning Chair)
  • Wendy Underwood (Communications Committee Chair)
  • Lue Vang

Please click here for contact information and biographies for the Planning Commissioners.

Front row (left to right) – *Gene Gelgelu, *Melanie McMahon, Terri Thao, Betsy Reveal, Kyle Makarios, Bill Lindeke​
Standing (left to right) – *Tats Tanaka, Kathy Mouacheupao, Kris Fredson, Lue Vang, Wendy Underwood, Christopher Ochs, Anne DeJoy, Luis Rangel Morales, Daniel Edgerton, Adrian Perryman - Former commissioners have the asterisk in front of their name. 
Not pictured: Aquanetta Anderson,  Cedrick Baker, Taqee Khalid, Chong Lee,Trevor Oliver, John Reich


Annual Reports


Planning Commission meetings are held at 8:30 a.m. every other Friday in the City Hall basement, rooms 40A and B.

2017 Planning Commission and Zoning Committee meeting schedule

Date Agenda Action Minutes Approved Minutes & Public Hearing Comments Packets Planning Commission Retreat
01/13/17 MEETING CANCELED        
01/27/17 Agenda Action Minutes 01/27/17 Approved Minutes 01/27/17
PED ED Strategy presentation
Zoning Information
PED's 2016-2018 Economic Development Strategy 
02/10/17 Agenda Action Minutes 02/10/17 Approved Minutes 02/10/17
8-80 Conclusion 
St. Paul Bike Plan presentation
Update St. Paul Bike Plan 
Planning Director's Report on 2016 Achievements and 2017 Projects
02/24/17 Agenda Action Minutes 02/24/17 Approved Minutes 02/24/17
Alt. Financial presentation 
Miss. River Critical Area Rulemaking presentation
Zoning Information
Alternative Financial Estab. Zoning Study
03/10/17 Agenda Action Minutes 03/10/17 Approved Minutes 03/10/17
Central Station Presentation

Zoning Information
Central Station Block Design Guidelines
Alternative Financial Estab. Zoning Study

03/24/17 Agenda Action Minutes 03/24/17 Approved Minutes 03/24/17
Palace Theater presentation
Zoning Information
04/07/17 Agenda Action Minutes 04/07/17 Approved Minutes 04/07/17
River Balcony presentation
Zoning Information
River Balcony Master Plan
Snelling Avenue South Zoning Study
04/21/17 Agenda Action Minutes 04/21/17 Approved Minutes 04/21/17
Central Station Block Design present.
Alternative Financial Estab. present.
Snelling Avenue South presentation
Short Term Rental/ZoneAmend.pres.

Central Station Block Design Guidelines
Alternative Financial Estab. Zoning Study
Zoning Information
Short Term Rental Study/Zoning Amendments
Saint Paul Bicycle Plan

05/05/17 Agenda
Revised Agenda 
Action Minutes 05/05/17 Approved Minutes 05/05/17 05/05/17
Alternative Financial Estab. Zoning Text Amendments
05/19/17 Agenda  Action Minutes 05/19/17

Approved Minutes 05/19/17
River Balcony Presentation
South Snelling Ave Presentation
Ford Site Presentation 
River Balcony public hearing written testimony 
Snelling Ave WrittenComments-Support 
Snelling Ave WrittenComments-Opposed


Zoning Information 
Central Station Block Design Guidelines 
Neighborhood STAR Apps-Comp Plan Conformance
Neighborhood STAR Applications
Ford Site Zoning & Public Realm Plan 

06/02/17 Agenda 
Revised Agenda
Action Minutes 06/02/17 Approved Minutes 06/02/17
Short Term Rental Presentation
Short Term Rental Written Comments


06/02/17 packet 
Zoning Information

06/16/17 Agenda Action Minutes 06/16/17 Approved Minutes 06/16/17
Capitol Area Parking Study
06/16/17 packet
Zoning Information
06/30/17 Agenda Action Minutes 06/30/17 Approved Minutes 06/30/17

06/30/17 packet
Memo w/ Ford Site Comments - June 23, 2017
Ford Site Affordable Housing Considerations memo
Zoning Committee Information
Snelling Ave South Zoning Study

07/14/17 Agenda Action Minutes 07/14/17 Approved Minutes 07/14/17


07/14/17 packet
Zoning Committee Information
Short Term Rental Study/Zoning Amendments
Minor Text Amendments for Water Resources
07/28/17 Agenda Action Minutes 07/28/17 Approved Minutes 07/28/17
Safe Routes to School presentation
07/28/17 packet
Zoning Committee Information
Commercial Development District: Firehouse Bar
Safe Routes to School Plan
Rush Line Locally Preferred Alternative
Draft Ford Site Master Plan presentation (with minor updates to correct typos)
08/11/17 Agenda Action Minutes 08/11/17 Approved Minutes 08/11/17 08/11/17
Zoning Committee Information
Zoning Code Chapter 65 Text Amendments
Short Term Rental Update 08/08/17
08/25/17 Agenda Action Minutes 08/25/17 Approved Minutes 08/25/17
Zoning Committee Information

2016 Planning Commission Meetings
2015 Planning Commission Meetings
2014 Planning Commission Meetings