The Transportation Committee will meet as needed on 2021 Meetings Dates. Meetings will be canceled if there is not a quorum expected, or if there are no agenda items. Meetings are generally held on certain Mondays from 4:30 - 6:00 p.m., in the City Hall Annex, 25 West 4th Street, 13th floor conference room. The Transportation Committee is staffed by Bill Dermody. If you would like to receive meeting agendas via email, please email 

Monday, January 11 01/11/21 TC packet
Monday, January 25 MEETING CANCELED
Monday, February 8 02/08/21 TC packet  Highland Bridge presentation
Monday, February 22

02/22/21 TC packet
Hillcrest presentation
Hillcrest finalist layouts (draft)

Monday, March 22 03/22/21 TC packet
B Line Presentation
Monday, April 5

04/05/21 TC packet

Monday, April 19 04/19/21 TC packet
Monday, May 17 05/17/21 TC packet
Monday, June 14 06/14/21 TC packet
Monday, August 9 08/09/21 TC packet 
Monday, August 23 08/23/21 TC packet 
Rice Street Vision presentation
Monday, September 20

09/20/21 TC packet
Como Park Transportation Project
Summit Avenue presentation
River Balcony presentation

Monday, October 4 10/04/21 TC packet
Point Douglas Master Plan
Monday, October 18

10/18/21 TC packet
Edgcumbe presentation

Monday, November 1  
Monday, November 15  
Monday, November 29  
Monday, December 13  
Monday, December 27  

2020 Transportation Committee Meetings

2019 Transportation Committee Meetings

2018 Transportation Committee Meetings

2017 Transportation Committee Meetings



At the direction of the Mayor and City Council, the Planning Commission established a Transportation Committee in 2010. The Transportation Committee advises the Planning Commission on transportation-related plans, policies, and projects.

About the Committee

The Transportation Committee advises the Planning Commission, the City Council, and staff on transportation planning and project decisions, and creates a transparent public forum for such discussions. The committee’s work helps better integrate land use and transportation decisions as they relate to zoning, neighborhood and comprehensive planning, and infrastructure investments. The Committee has been asked to:

  • Implement policies from the Transportation Chapter of the Comprehensive Plan. Review transportation-related zoning amendments/studies, guide new modal plans, and oversee the work of any transportation issue task forces that may be convened.
  • Review Public Works projects with a significant transportation element, as well as such projects from partner agencies like Ramsey County, MnDOT, or Metro Transit, to ensure consistency with citywide plans and policies.
  • Review planning or design documents for consistency with “Complete Streets” approach and the City's Street Design Manual.
  • Advise, where needed, on site plans or development concepts to ensure true transportation options.
  • Engage in regional/interagency projects. Coordinate with the regional and federal governments in transportation planning, and provide guidance for priorities on funding opportunities.


The Transportation Committee consists of four Planning Commissioners, and up to eight additional community members, including people who represent the following areas of interest, or multiple interests:

  • Transit, including bus and passenger rail
  • Pedestrian/walkability issues
  • Bicyclists
  • Freight and logistics industry, including trucking, rail operations, and airports
  • Accessibility representatives or persons with disabilities
  • Representatives of commercial corridors (i.e., small business owners)
  • Downtown or business representatives.

The non-Planning Commission members are appointed by the chair of the Planning Commission. Committee members must live or work in Saint Paul and will be appointed for a term of 3 years. The Transportation Committee currently includes the following members:

  • Andrea Buiser
  • Treyton Daniels
  • Sara Dunlap
  • Kevin Gallatin
  • Martín Hernandez
  • ​Tony Kutzke
  • Garrison McMurtrey*
  • Jeff Risberg, Chair*
  • Heidi Schallberg
  • Omar Syed*
  • Wendy Underwood*
  • (OPEN)

*Planning Commissioner

Current Projects and Partnerships

Last Edited: October 18, 2021