Since Saint Paul’s founding, African Americans have faced discrimination that has included redlining, racial covenants restricting the sale of real estate, and the destruction of the Rondo residential neighborhood and business district to make way for I-94. Disparities in homeownership, economic prosperity, education and healthcare resulted.

The Saint Paul City Council undertook several key initiatives to address these injustices and move toward reparation. These efforts culminated in the City Council establishing the Saint Paul Recovery Act Community Reparations Commission January 4, 2023. This ordinance took effect February 13, 2023.

The work that led up to the establishment of the commission began officially on January 13, 2021, when City Council passed Resolution 21-77. In this, the Council apologized on behalf of the City of Saint Paul for the City's role in the institutional and structural racism experienced by its residents. In addition, the resolution calls for the creation of a limited-term Legislative Advisory Committee to create a framework in the City's Codes for a permanent commission, to be known as the Saint Paul Recovery Act Community Reparations Commission, hereinafter "Reparations Commission". 

The City Council’s Legislative Advisory Committee was comprised of community members with the skills, lived experiences and professional backgrounds to meaningfully engage in the work of helping to establish a commission to address the lineal wealth gap in Saint Paul. This Legislative Advisory Committee delivered an outstanding draft ordinance to establish a permanent commission and companion report with pointed and useful commentary to sift through the issues.

As part of the Legislative Advisory Committee work, the City Council’s research staff also partnered with the Saint Paul Public Library to develop a resource list for anyone to be able to learn more about the topic of reparations. It includes many resources specific to Saint Paul and Minnesota.  See "Reparations Reference List" below.

About the Reparations Commission

Res 23-969 established the Saint Paul Recovery Act Community Reparations Commission.  The commission shall consist of eleven (11) at-large members appointed by the Saint Paul City Council.

The members first appointed, three (3) shall be appointed for a term of one (1) year, four (4) for a term of two (2) years, and four (4) for a term of three (3) years. Thereafter, the term of each member shall be three (3) years. Members shall serve no more than 2 consecutive terms. Vacancies on the commission for whatever cause shall be filled by the City Council through the open appointment process for the unexpired term.

All members shall be residents of the City of Saint Paul and to the extent possible, members shall be representative of the city's diversity of neighborhoods, races, cultures, ages, abilities, incomes and sexual orientations consistent with city’s diversity and equity goals.  Members are appointed to the following terms effective February 11, 2023: 

  • Jamila Pickett, Khulia Pringle, and Nick Khaliq to terms of one year; 
  • Carla Robinson, Idman Ibrahim, Joseph Bloedoorn, and Nick Muhammed to terms of two years; 
  • Arthur McCoy, Nila Gouldin, Trahern Crews, and Jeremie English to terms of three years.

These community advisors who bring valuable perspectives and whose presence builds public trust, ensures transparency and accountability shall be paid a $50 stipend per meeting to help defray expenses associated with participating in Commission meetings.

Agenda Meetings and Materials

Reparations Efforts

Last Edited: June 4, 2024